Dynamics Notes, Taking Shape

Originally Posted 12-30-2011

I have been hard at work on my dynamical systems class today. Uh, well, I’ve been sitting at the kitchen table sorta workin’ and sorta playin’ with the kids.

Anyway, I have got the basic idea for the first week or so of class and I am busy constructing the actual documents to give to my students. I am taking a lot of inspiration from Robert Devaney’s book A First Course in Chaotic Dynamical Systems for content, and from Marshall, Odell and Starbird’s Number Theory Through Inquiry for structure and approach.

If you are interested, I am using my Dropbox public folder to share the problem sequence with my students, so you can see it here.

So far, I only have enough for the first day typed out. I have more in a skeleton plan that will be added in the next day or two.

