A reflection on “Assessment Interviews, Phase 2”

I have spent a large portion of today in one-on-one conversation with the students in my Euclidean Geometry course. To prepare the students for these meetings, I asked them to complete a one page reflection paper, with this prompt. If you don’t want to click through, I basically ask the students to read through the “standards for assessment,” which is just a fancy name for my student learning goals, and do a self-assessment. Then I want them to make a plan of action for improvement during the next three weeks.

The striking part is the strength of the negative correlation between student self-assessment and my assessments.

Students who I recognize as having developed strong skills come it with focused critiques and tight plans for how to improve.

Students who I recognize as having not yet demonstrated many of our foundational skills show up with some confidence that they are doing everything just fine, and weak plans for self-improvement.

(This relationship is not perfect. Some students were spot on, of course.)

I have enough experience that I expected this, but to watch in unfold all day was really something.

2 thoughts on “A reflection on “Assessment Interviews, Phase 2”

  1. Yeah, I didn’t see any of those. I meant a few students who were doing well had a reasonable opinion of their success.

Comments are closed.