Who’s terrible at their job today? Oh, it’s me?

The spring semester has started. I have two sections of Math in Decision Making, which are going just fine. But I also have a section of linear algebra.

The big problem. I am terrible. 

It is only four class meetings in, since I had to miss a day for the Joint Meetings. But already my class of 28 had an attendance of 18. My hack at a new structure is not going well. The attendance problem I am taking as a sign that students don’t see class time as valuable. Frankly, given how meetings 1-3 went, they are right.

To top it off, I had someone ask “what’s the purpose of this?” in the middle of class. Another sign I am not getting things done properly.

It is not too late to salvage things, but it is gonna take some work to re-earn the trust of the class.

Back to work.

3 thoughts on “Who’s terrible at their job today? Oh, it’s me?

  1. Everything. I am using a new book. I am trying to get the students to use the SageMathCloud. I am trying a new structure.
    I think it might be time to tear everything up and start over from scratch. I am only four meetings in, so that should be possible.

  2. Find out from the students which new parts are working. I have been using socrative as a quizzing (clickers) option. You probably can’t change the book, unless you want to switch to an open source version, but it is okay to hit the reset button.

Comments are closed.